A rosé by any other name


My latest food-based obsession here isn’t actually related to chocolate, amazingly enough. Visiting my aunt in Holland, I was reintroduced to the rosé wine. For me, the term has usually referred to those gross, fruity concoctions that are closer to cooler than wine product. But it’s possible to get lovely, delicate and dry rosés here. The lesson I’ve learned, with help from the Dutch relations, is that it’s all a matter of shade.

Take, for example, the bargain rosé (2 euros) on the left. It’s an extremely dark colour and, also, very gross (yes, that’s a term often employed by sommeliers). The wine on the right is extremely light and tasty, but it was crushingly expensive (3 euros, 20 cents).

Okay, that’s more than I would ever have expected to write about wine in my life. Moving along. I bought tomatoes yesterday, and once I got them home realized they were “pigeon heart” tomatoes. Very gross name, very tasty fruit/vegetable.

And finally, there was a request for more Paris pictures. I ended up on the top of Montmartre yesterday (part of the bad part of using a compass to navigate is that it doesn’t recognize obstacles on its path to home, such as a big hill to climb). The sun was setting and it was really quite pretty.

Still no people, though. That’s something I hope to change tomorrow, I’m stopping by a meeting of the “Big Ben Club,” a social group that meets once a week at the bookstore Shakespeare and Company and chats for an hour in English and an hour in French. I’ll try to come back with a full report.


3 responses to “A rosé by any other name

  1. ahh!!
    this is so exciting.

    i hope you meet a wonderful pareeesian man with a curly moustache.
    and invite me to your curly french wedding.

  2. 1. I miss your aunt and uncle and their excellent wine!!

    2. I'm SO excited you're going to Shakespeare&Co. And by excited, I mean jealous. But also excited.

    3. I would like to be the narrator of your French wedding. Or MC. Or DJ. Whatever it's called.

  3. Enjoy Shakespeare & Company! Come back with full report for those of us living vicariously.

Leave a Reply

