Things I love

I’m kind of super-duper happy right now, so this is rather a long list. I’m also having computer problems, so these photos have been growing in number for a while. I’m just going to throw them all down right now and hope my battery lasts however long that takes to happen.

First off, things I loved on the weekend:

I went in search of a used clothes store that my mom and I found online. I eventually located it, and it was lame, but I ended up wandering along this busy little street that was jam-packed with people. And at the end, there was this gorgeous arc! I love random Paris arcs.


I also love Paris street food. In this specific case, I’m talkin about an egg and cheese crepe for dinner.


Funny story with this. I was walkin down the street, happily munching away, and a girl said “bon appetit!” as I passed. I kind of nodded, and gave a tight-lipped, mouth-full smile. And she totally snapped at me that if someone says that to you, you have to respond thank you. So, apparently, talking with your mouth full is preferable to not verbally responding to an entreaty to enjoy your dinner.

Next, I stopped by a parc along the way to a little street festival, and watched the kids and families playing. “Le foot” was obviously a big hit.


As was the big modern waterfall-sculpture:


I had to cross the “pont Simone de Beauvoir” to get to the festival. This is a long, kind of split-level bridge with undulating, alternating levels. I read somewhere that it was supposed to have long, feminine lines. Having read de Beauvoir’s memoir when I first got here (well, the first volume of it), I feel like that was a tribute and description she wouldn’t necessarily have enjoyed.


There’s not much to say about the truck other than that by peering into the window, I managed to ascertain that it actually does appear to belong to a gardening company or something of the like. Or, I suppose, just someone who really, really likes grass and plants. As I took this picture, a woman walked by and said “well, it’s certainly original, isn’t it?”

Final weekend note. My dad pointed this out, and now it always makes me laugh. In lots of restaurants and cafes, there’s only a single bathroom, with the sink kind of out in the hall. Oh, and a urinal around the corner. So you’ll be blissfully washing your hands, and a man will just walk up and do his business, reflected in a mirror, or just around the corner. Case in point:


Okay, we’re on to what I love about today. It mainly involves Paris at night.



This is the apparently controversial Centre Pompidou, which houses the modern art museum. Some found it hideous when it was first built, but I was totally captivated when I turned a corner and stumbled upon it tonight. I must go some day soon, I’m running out of time!!


I also turned a corner annd found a mannequin store. That’s right, it’s a store that sells mannequins for store displays. And I peered inside and couldn’t stop laughing. I would like to work at this store, and to spend my time arranging the mannequins for no reason other than to sell themselves.

Finally, after all that wandering, I went to my French discussion group. The normal organizers are on vacation, and it was just me and two younger people, one British and the other Parisien. We went to a bar next to Shakespeare & Co and had a really great discussion, all about job interviews, and employment laws, and where in Europe it’s best to work.

Have I mentioned I don’t want to leave?

I’ll leave you with a song I learned about in French class today. It’s by a rock/reggae group from here in France and just happens to be chock full of subjonctif. But it’s also incredibly positive, and I downloaded it from iTunes so I can listen to it whenever I feel cranky.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjWF47lJ2Nk&feature=related

On vous souhaite tout le bonheur du monde
Et que quelqu’un vous tende la main
Que votre chemin évite les bombes
Qu’il mène vers de calmes jardins.

On vous souhaite tout le bonheur du monde
Pour aujourd’hui comme pour demain
Que votre soleil éclaircisse l’ombre
Qu’il brille d’amour au quotidien.

Puisque l’avenir vous appartient
Puisqu’on n’contrôle pas votre destin
Que votre envol est pour demain
Comme tout c’qu’on a à vous offrir
Ne saurait toujours vous suffir
Dans cette liberté à venir
Puisque on sera pas toujours là
Comme on le fut aux premiers pas.

On vous souhaite tout le bonheur du monde
Et que quelqu’un vous tende la main
Que votre chemin évite les bombes
Qu’il mène vers de calmes jardins.

Toute une vie s’offre devant vous
Tant de rêves a vivre jusqu’au bout
Surement plein de joie au rendez-vous
Libre de faire vos propres choix
De choisir qu’elle sera votre voie
Et où celle-ci vous emmenera
J’espère juste que vous prendrez le temps
De profiter de chaque instant.

On vous souhaite tout le bonheur du monde
Et que quelqu’un vous tende la main
Que votre chemin évite les bombes
Qu’il mène vers de calmes jardins.

Ché pas quel monde on vous laissera
On fait d’notre mieux, seulement parfois,
J’ose espérer que c’la suffira
Pas à sauver votre insoucience
Mais à apaiser notre conscience
Aurais-je le droit de vous faire confiance…

On vous souhaite tout le bonheur du monde
Et que quelqu’un vous tende la main
Que votre chemin évite les bombes
Qu’il mène vers de calmes jardins.

One response to “Things I love

  1. Dear Shannon: When I get to Paris (in 17 days!!), I may have to move in with you and refuse to leave altogether. Apologies ahead of time.

Leave a Reply

